525 Shields Road G41 2RF
Original building Robert Baldie, 1878; Interior alterations Peter McGregor Chalmers, 1912-14
Category B Listed
This B listed stunning Gothic Style Church boasts more than 60 fabulous jewel coloured stained glass windows, the largest being approximately 24ft tall by 16ft wide. Discover the history and see the magnificent Harrison and Harrison Organ, installed in 1913.
Having celebrated its centenary in 2013 the 3 manual instrument is enclosed in a carved oak case, designed by Henry Edward Clifford of Glasgow, with the console detached. Set into the casing, behind the exquisitely carved oak stall are 3 tapestries, believed to be 14th Century Italian. Also in the Chancel you will see the oak communion table and the beautiful octagonal alabaster and marble pulpit, both of which are elaborately carved and decorated.
The Sanctuary glows with the unique light from the stained glass windows, many of which are designs by Stephen Adam, W & JJ Keir, and Robert Anning Bell, and illustrate passages and stories from the Bible
Within the body of the church you will see polished granite columns, each with unique caps. These are complemented by the original granite, sandstone and alabaster baptismal font. A large brass eagle lectern can also be found close to the chancel.
Modern decorative needlework panels by Sally Moodie Harkness are displayed in the Parlour and in the side chapel, where there is also the Book of Remembrance, which contains the details of all the local churches which have variously united to become the present Pollokshields Church of Scotland. This book contains the names of members from all these churches who died in World Wars I & II, and the Falklands conflict.
Externally the War Memorial can be seen, which is based on the form of the Ruthwell Cross, and is of carved granite and contains within it, a carving of the Glasgow Coat of Arms. The church clock tower with its illuminated clock is a familiar landmark to many visitors crossing the Kingston Bridge.
Booklets about the church and its history are available. QR cards are also available.
Part of the Childrens Programme: Tick box quiz/ puzzle sheet (under 12s) small prizes!
Number in Brochure: 82
Sat 10am 4pm
Restrictions on Access: The Undercroft and Church Tower will not be open to visitors.
Full Disabled Access
Wheelchair Ramps Exterior and Interior.
Nearest Train or Subway Station(s): Pollokshields East Train Station & Shields Road Underground
Parking: On Street Parking Available Free of Charge
0141 429 5425