12 Nelson Mandela Place G2 1BT
Charles Wilson, 1856
Category A Listed
Explore this Italianate, “palazzo” style building with finely sculpted masks of historical legal figures, a richly decorated interior and access to the main library described as “one of the most exquisite halls in the West of Scotland” Glasgow Herald (1857)
The Faculty of Procurators (or lawyers) in Glasgow has been in existence since before 1668. The building, into which the Faculty and its library moved in 1857, is a two-storeyed building with three façades designed by the architect Charles Wilson (1810-1863) in the style of a Venetian Palazzo. Wilson is also responsible for some of Glasgow’s finest Italianate buildings.
The keystones to the arches, depicting the faces of eminent lawyers, were modelled by Alexander Handyside Ritchie and carved by James Shanks.
There are a number of different rooms within the building including –
the Faculty Hall which has been used for a variety of purposes over the years, including auctions and Royal Faculty lunches.
the Small Library with its “bicentenary window” commissioned from John K. Clark for the Royal Faculty’s bicentenary in 1996 and mortification boards around the balcony commemorating bequests to the Royal Faculty’s charitable funds.
The Main Library which was described in the Glasgow Herald of 12 June 1857 as one of the most exquisite halls in the West of Scotland. Nine busts of former members of the Faculty and other notables add character to the library.
The building houses an extremely important collection of legal texts and is still used as a working space by solicitors and advocates. Consequently it is usually only open to members.
Number in Brochure: 28
Sat 12noon 4pm
Restrictions on Access: Some parts of the building not open.
No Disabled Access
Nearest Train or Subway Station(s): Buchanan Street Subway, Queen Street Station
Parking: On Street Parking Available Charges Apply
0141 332 3593