300 Great Western Road G4 9JB
Sir George Gilbert Scott, 1871
Category A Listed
This Gothic Revival Cathedral is set on the busy thoroughfare of Great Western Road and has an impressive 200 ft spire. Experience at firsthand the stunning Gwyneth Leech murals, commissioned to celebrate Glasgow City of Culture 1990.
Following a period of turbulence and uncertainty for Episcopalians dating back to the 17th century, 1825 saw the opening of St Marys Chapel in Renfield Street to accommodate a growing population.
Later in the century, Sir George Gilbert Scott was commissioned to build a new church in Great Western Road for the congregation of St Marys, and the result is one of the citys best Gothic Revival buildings, constructed by the finest craftsmen available and opened in 1871. The stained glass, part of an integrated sequence within the church, was designed by the studios of Hardman, Ward & Hughes and Clayton & Bell. St Marys was consecrated in 1884, with the spire being added nine years later to the original square tower.
In 1908, in recognition of the churchs growing influence and status, St Marys became the Cathedral Church of the Scottish Episcopal Diocese of Glasgow and Galloway.
After the Great War, refitting of the chancel was undertaken by the distinguished architect, Sir Robert Lorimer. By the 1980s, St Marys was in need of major refurbishment. Essential roof repairs were carried out in 1985, with restoration, repair and internal improvements taking place between 1989 and 1996.
Externally the roof has been re-slated and the tower and spire repaired. Internally, the organ has been rebuilt, the font moved from the west door to the south transept, and the east end and crossing decorated with murals painted by Gwyneth Leech. Interior restoration has included the introduction of an altar and choir stalls in the nave, and a new porch completed in 2002 at the west end.
This year, St Marys is marking the 25th anniversary of the stunning Gwyneth Leech murals which were commissioned to celebrate Glasgow City of Culture in 1990.
Number in Brochure: 104
Mon, Tue, Wed & Fri 10am 12.30pm
Thur 10am 11am, Sat 10am 4.30pm
Sun 1pm 4.30pm
Tours of Bell Tower: Sat & Sun 1pm 4.30pm; 15 minutes.
(Tours of the Bell Tower are now taking place on Saturday too!)
Meeting Point: South Door, By the Font.
Restrictions on Access: Sacristy.
Limited Disabled Access
Only bell tower inaccessible 60 steps.
Nearest Train or Subway Station(s): St Georges Cross & Kelvinbridge Subway
Parking: On Street Parking Available Charges Apply
Free on street parking on Sundays. Blue Badge holders free parking on site.
0141 339 6691