183 Meiklerig Crescent, Pollok, Glasgow G53 5NA
HE Clifford, 1833
Category B Listed
The beautiful Category B listed Pollok Parish Church was moved stone by stone to its current location in 1953! Now home to the Village Storytelling Centre, visit this incredible building to see its magnificent stained glass and discover its history.
St James was the first church designed by H E Clifford and was built 1893-1895 and was known as Titwood Parish Church, originally situated in Glencairn Drive, Pollokshields, Glasgow. H E Clifford also designed Pollokshields Burgh Hall which was a stones throw from the church. The church was dismantled in 1951 and moved to Meikelrig Crescent in Pollok and renamed St James (Pollok) Parish Church. The move was a unique and major undertaking, with each stone carefully numbered so that the church could be rebuilt exactly te same on the new site. St James opened its doors to the people of Pollok on 3 September 1953.
The Village Storytelling Centre has been situated in a custom converted wing of the church since 2000. It provides a full arts programme to all sectors of the Greater Pollok community along with outreach work, helping a wide range of participants from toddlers to their grandparents and everyone in between to find, shape and share their voices.
Your visit to this unique site will allow you to tour the church, taking in its magnificent stained glass and hearing about it fascinating history and also to visit the Village Storytelling Centre who will be offering a variety of fun story and arts activities to entertain the whole family.
Part of the Childrens Programme: We will be running a range of Storytelling and Arts activities for children, young people and families during the day. These can be accessed on a drop in basis and are suitable for all ages. Come along and join in!
Number in Brochure: 91
Sat & Sun 10am 4pm
Sat 10am, 11am, 12noon, 1pm, 2pm & 3pm
Sun 1pm, 2pm & 3pm; 20 minutes
Meeting Point: Outside the Church
Full Disabled Access
Nearest Train or Subway Station(s): Mosspark
Parking: On Street Parking Available Free of Charge
0141 882 3025