28-32 Cathedral SquareÂ G4 0XA
Campbell, Douglas & Morrison, 1896
A 19th-century Scottish baronial-style hotel, complete with turrets, originally built as a hostel for inmates released from nearby Duke Street Prison. Discover the history of the building and area. You may even catch a glimpse of the resident ghosts!
Cathedral House Hotel was built in 1877 as a hostel for inmates released from nearby Duke Street Prison. Activity includes a ghost which passes guests on the stairwell and two children being sighted and giggling children heard on the top floor.
As Duke Street prison held women prisoners from around Scotland, many Suffragettes and political activists were imprisoned here whose protests at the living conditions would eventually lead to the closure in 1955. It was demolished in 1958 to eventually make way for the Ladywell housing scheme which was built on the site from 1961â€“1964 and stands till this day. The only remaining structure of Duke Street Prison is some of the boundary wall.
Duke Street Prison also known as Bridewell is one of 8 prisons which used to stand in and around Glasgow. By 1840 most of these were closed except Duke Street Prison .
After the transfer of responsibility to the state from local authorities, HM Prison Barlinnie was built in the Eastern suburbs of the city in 1882 in order to take over from â€˜Bridewellâ€™ which eventually remained open as a womenâ€™s prison until 1955.
Number in Brochure: 5
Sat & Sun 10am 4pm
No Disabled Access
Support for the Mobility Impaired
Due to the historic nature, the building has no lift and not suitable for guests with mobility issues.
Nearest Train or Subway Station(s): High Street
Parking: On Street Parking Available Charges Apply
0141 552 3519