1641 Maryhill Road G20 0DZ
Andrew Walker, 1811
Category C Listed
The history of Maryhills oldest building is deeply linked to the Forth & Clyde canal, with its origins as a public house selling groceries and alcohol to locals and to passing boatmen. There will be an exhibition for visitors, detailing the history of the building and the canal.
The White House is an important early historical landmark in the Maryhill area. It was built in the late 18th century, around the time of the construction of the west side of the Forth and Clyde Canal, the oldest and the longest canal in Scotland, which was completed in 1790.
The White House Inn was built as a public house for those using the canal network it even served as Maryhills first post office. It is situated at the head of Maryhill Locks, near where the main canal joins the spur to Speirs Wharf.
Throughout the week, the building will host an exhibition by Scottish Waterways Trust, detaiilng the history of the canal in the area.
The White House is now occupied by cycling charity Free Wheel North, who will be organising rickshaw rides along the canal towpath during the Doors Open Day weekend.
Discover Glasgows Industrial Heritage: The White House, Maryhill, has played an important role in the history of Scotlands canal network. In 2015, newly repurposed as a cycling hub which takes advantage of the extensive network of canal towpaths and river walkways, the White House is still relevant to how people of the area think about transportation.
Hosting a Lids Open Day
Number in Brochure: 57
Tue, Wed, Sat & Sun 10am 4pm
Full Disabled Access
Nearest Train or Subway Station(s): Maryhill, Kelvindale & Summerston
Parking: Car Park Available On-Site Free of Charge